A Dialogue Between Logic & Anxiety

An internal conversation between Logic and Anxiety (or perhaps between Te and Fi).

Anxiety: I feel cheated and betrayed.

Logic: You chose to divulge to them.  Besides, the relationships weren’t anything substantial to begin with.

Anxiety: But I wasn’t thinking straight.  I was hyperventilating then.  I just wanted them to like me.  I just wanted everything to be okay.

Logic: Then these are the consequences you have to pay. 

Anxiety: Why don’t they like me?

Logic: Why is that a concern?  Is that all you’re concerned about?

Anxiety: No… I don’t know.  It just feels horrible being rejected.

Logic: Would you feel any better if they liked you?

Anxiety: No… but it doesn’t change the fact that I feel this way.

Logic: I don’t concern myself with these sort of trivial matters.  It’s a waste of time and energy.  There are bigger and more important issues to worry about.  

Anxiety: I don’t think I care about such menial things either, but they still do affect me.  I don’t know why.  Do these reactions mean that I ultimately care about such things?

Logic: Are you listening to yourself?  You’re not making any logical sense. 

Anxiety: I know… it confuses me too. 

Logic: Just not let these things get to you, because, after all, you said they don’t matter to you — and they shouldn’t.  Focus your energy on more productive things. 

Anxiety: I try to… but I can’t.  I really can’t.  It’s out of my control. 

Logic: Well, then you’re going to bring both of us down.  I don’t know how else to help.  We’ve been over this many times before, and it’s leading us nowhere. 

Anxiety: …I’m sorry. 

7 thoughts on “A Dialogue Between Logic & Anxiety

    1. It is a figurative dialogue, yes. Why do you think it affects so much when, rationally, it isn’t much of a concern? Are the visceral reactions playing tricks on the mind? Is it fuelled by irrationality? Is the mind deceiving itself? How can the dichotomy (co)exist in one being?

      Like

      1. That is a bit of a paradox. It doesn’t make straightforward sense, yet it could never be any other way. In a sense, it is almost like the dipole of a magnet…to have rationality without feeling is to have a north pole and not a south, despite the fact that they blatantly contradict one another. Of course, I have no idea why magnets are always dipoles. I can’t say exactly how logic and emotion coexist either. That isn’t to suggest that there is no real reason, only that there is an expression of infinity in these kinds of paradoxes. It is something I don’t think we can completely figure out, since most of us are primarily one pole or the other and haven’t learned to effectively employ our secondary function. To fully grasp either side would require us to fully master it. I do think, however, that the two are inseparably linked, perhaps even expressions of one and the same thing. Like energy and matter. That is what I make of it, what are your thoughts?

        Like

        1. That’s a nice take on it. However, the coalescence of logic and emotion isn’t what I’m perplexed by, it’s the conflict between my logical thoughts and anxious reactions (mental, emotional, and physical in nature). Like what I wrote in the post and in my previous response:

          If rationally I do not care about XYZ, then why does XYZ trigger panic attacks and bring about an onslaught of anxiety?

          Am I deceiving myself into thinking or believing that XYZ is not a concern of mine when it actually is?

          Do I pay more attention and give more weight to my anxious responses in an effort to decipher how I truly feel about XYZ?

          Is how my body reacting to XYZ (i.e. the visceral reactions) an indicator of how I truly perceive XYZ, and that my mind is just late to the party and needs catching up?

          Or is the anxiety a disorder and, thus, an unreliable source of information?

          Which holds true?

          Is that a false dichotomy?

          They can’t both be true, so either one of them is, or neither of them are and another factor (or factors) is at play.

          Like

Leave a Reply

