A Bad Dream

Animals from videos I watched recently visited me in a dream, but not in a pleasant way.

There were frantic struggles and shrieks. They were in agonising pain and couldn’t escape. The woman inflicting pain on them laughed at their cries of distress. There was a complete disconnect from their suffering. I couldn’t help; I was merely an observer of the ordeal. I could do nothing but watch the horror unfold.

I managed to save one. I huddled it close, trying to soothe and calm it down. Its eyes were wide with terror; its fur was matted with blood. I tried to communicate nonverbally that it was safe now, that it needn’t be afraid of me, that not all humankind had to be feared, that I was taking it to the hospital.

Leave a Reply

